Fighting to Live

She cries,

“Why am I trying to give

When no one gives me a try?

Why am I trying to live

If I’m just living to die”

Young girl

Beautiful,

Breathtaking 

I noticed a huge insecurity from a mile

She smiled in disguise

She smiled as if everything was fine

I see past her smile, there is pain in her eyes

I sit her down and say,

“It’s okay you can confide in me and cry

I look at you and I see a younger me

Lost in world but lived worldly 

That’s why no beautiful smile can ever past me 

I feel your pain and I know it’s not easy, but believe me 

There are brighter day you’ll see…”

She cuts me off and says that I don’t understand 

Confused and puzzled like why are you telling me this

Eventually she opened up a tad bit

Her: “There’s more to this pain then just a “man”

I’m fighting each day for a life that I feel that’s not worth living 

Why am I trying to give

When no one gives me a try?

Why am I trying to live

If I’m just living to die

I’ve been diagnosed 

I’m sick and broken how could this be when I KNOW that I HAVE GREATER PURPOSE everyone just sees me as this happy person

I’m stressed and confused and I don’t know what to do 

Believe me this isn’t easy to live with

I try to talk to those closest, they cut me off and say nothing

Alone I feel, that’ why it’s hard to open up you feel.. me now?

At home in my room with a FULL HOUSE too and yet still no one to talk to.”

I looked at her and smiled right through her eyes

Hugged her in time just before she started to cry

I could tell she hasn’t had one of those in a long time

It was a cry for a help and I thought to myself, there is nothing I can do for this young lady 

Instead to offer my time, love, affection and support 

Something she’s been missing for years

By the tone of her voice and her eye contact was at a bare minimum

I wanted to help her so bad, but didn’t know how

I thought to myself let me show her, her authentic self

Encourage her each day, even offer my house to stay 

Anything to make sure she was more than just okay

To help her know that she is loved and she will loved, true love starts from within and God is LOVE

That he would never leave his children astray, 

I proudly can say that God has brought me through a MAZE 

I say this to say that God will have you AMAZED

I promise that you will genuinely smile again, laugh again and love again

God is not man that he shall lie

So trust him and accept me as I didn’t stop by to simply say “Hi”

That there was more to this interaction then just a hi 

But to be your physical cheerleader and your support through this hard time which I will add is a blessing in disguise.

Don’t you ever hesitate to call me

Anything you need I will supply

You have gained a sister

A sister in Christ

And together sis, I want to see you Shine and see you Rise

and let us prove that the Devil is a lie

I promise you’ll be just fine

It’s the process of hardship that will allow you to live a beautiful life.

 

Leave a comment