Breakdown

Middle school crush

He was my high school love

We fell in love

Oh how we fell in love

“They” said we were too young to understand the concept of…

We got married young 

We were twenty and twenty one, what fun

Four years later arrived a little one 

Baby boy brought us both joy 

We named him Emani.. 

My little man & my true love

The only one that knows what my heart sounds like from the inside

Yet he watches me cry only if he could speak he’s only one years old

yet his face looks as if he would say

“Mommy it will be okay”

His dad comes home late at night and leaves before sunrise 

I act strong and let him go along as soon as he leaves I breakdown

“I’M BROKEN”

What was suppose to be “happily ever after” turned into a horrendous disaster 

Why after?

We made a promise not to ourselves but to the most high 

“Why?” is all that kept running through my mind

I want to leave

I gotta leave 

I gotta do what’s best for me 

I was really rooting for our little family

However my sanity is what matters to me 

No, I’m not being selfish 

I’m twenty five turning twenty six 

I think it’s safe to say that our fairytale of what was “perfect love”

has had it’s run, it was fun while it lasted

All those memories I will hold dear to me, to my heart

We grew a part

I was living with a stranger at times I felt in danger 

At this point we were just hanging on 

For what? I was tired , tired of pretending, tired of what seemed to be a never ending unhappiness of life with my child’s father, my husband by my side 

At this point I knew I had to do what was right

To my first love the string has now fallen a part 

I will ALWAYS  love you, but I have fallen out of being in love with you 

You changed, I changed together we changed, we no longer go the same

Thank you for my most precious gift 

Emani

You will always be my first love.

 

I never usually explain my written pieces, however this piece was inspired by this powerful picture, that I came across. It’s unfortunate I don’t know who the artist is I think his name may be Ray! I hope you all enjoyed this piece 

Love, Bri 

2 thoughts on “Breakdown

Leave a comment